Spring 2021 Course Schedule

 
                                                                                                                                                                  as of January 20, 2021
Course Code Time Instructor Room Office Office Hour Email
MAT 123
 Precalculus
55946
55947
Lec: MW 5:00 - 6:20 PM
Rec: F 12:30-1:23 PM
Young-Seon Lee - B609 - young-seon.lee
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 151-90
Applied Calculus I
55928 MW 3:30 - 4:50 PM Young-Seon Lee - B609 - young-seon.lee
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 151-91
Applied Calculus I
56164 TUTH 3:30 - 4:50 PM Young-Seon Lee - B609 - young-seon.lee
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 161-90
Applied Calculus II
55929 MW 3:30 - 4:50 PM Kazem Mahdavi - A511 - kazem.mahdavi
@sunykorea.ac.kr
AMS 161-91
Applied Calculus II
56165 TUTH 3:30 - 4:50 PM Kazem Mahdavi - A511 - kazem.mahdavi
@sunykorea.ac.kr
AMS 210-90
Applied Linear Algebra
55930 MW 5:00 - 6:20 PM Ky Tran - B525 - ky.tran
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 210-91
Applied Linear Algebra
56166 TUTH 5:00 - 6:20 PM Kazem Mahdavi - A511 - kazem.mahdavi
@sunykorea.ac.kr
AMS 261
Applied Calculus III
55931
55932
Lec: MW 3:30 - 4:50 PM
Rec: F 1:30-2:23 PM
Tan Cao - B524 - tan.cao
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 301
Finite Mathematical
Structure
55944 MW 5:00 - 6:20 PM Suil O - B523 - suil.o
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 303
Graph Theory
55987 MW 10:30 - 11:50 AM Suil O - B523 - suil.o
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 310
Survey of Probability &
Statistics
55978 MW 10:30 - 11:50 AM Hyunwook Koh - B521 - hyunwook.koh
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 311
Probability Theory
55933 MW 9:00 - 10:20 AM Ky Tran - B525 - ky.tran
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 315
Data Analysis
55934 TT 2:00 - 3:20 PM Changsoon Park - A611 - changsoon.park
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 326
Numerical Analysis
56101 MW 2:00 - 3:20 PM Tan Cao - B524 - tan.cao
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 475
Undergraduate
Teaching Practicum
55935 Appointment Myoungshic Jhun   B519   myoungshic.jhun
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 476
Undergraduate
Teaching Practicum
56019 Appointment Myoungshic Jhun   B519   myoungshic.jhun
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 487
Research in
Applied Mathematics
55936 Appointment Kazem Mahdavi   A511   kazem.mahdavi
@sunykorea.ac.kr
AMS 487
Research in
Applied Mathematics
56036 Appointment Myoungshic Jhun   B519   myoungshic.jhun
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 487
Research in
Applied Mathematics
56080 Appointment Tan Cao   B524   tan.cao
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 487
Research in
Applied Mathematics
56095 Appointment Suil O  

B523

  suil.o
@stonybrook.edu
AMS 487
Research in
Applied Mathematics
56752 Appointment Hyunwook Koh   B521   hyunwook.koh
@stonybrook.edu

 

 

Teaching Assistants 

Course TA Email Office Hour Office
MAT 123 Mincheol Shin
Purena Kim
mincheol.shin@stonybrook.edu
purena.kim@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 151-90 Kyungbae Min
Hakyung Cha
kyungbae.min@stonybrook.edu
hakyung.cha@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 151-91 Seunghyun Park
Yoobin Lee
seunghyun.park@stonybrook.edu
yoobin.lee@stonybrook.edu
   
AMS 161-90 Sinae Hong
Won Gu
sinae.hong@stonybrook.edu
won.gu@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 161-91 Su-Ah Kwon
Yeji Kim
su-ah.kwon@stonybrook.edu
yeji.kim@stonybrook.edu
   
AMS 210-90 Kangmin Cho
Kushal Sedhai
kangmin.cho@stonybrook.edu
Kushal.Sedhai@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 210-91 Jaewoo Yoo
Seh Hyun Jun
Jaewoo.Yoo@stonybrook.edu
Sehhyun.Jun@stonybrook.edu
   
AMS 261 Kangmin Cho
Minsung Ku
kangmin.cho@stonybrook.edu
Minsung.Ku@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 301 Hyunju Tahk hyunju.tahk@stonybrook.edu - -
AMS 303 Su-Ah Kwon su-ah.kwon@stonybrook.edu - -
AMS 310 Crispen Chisina
Solha Park
Crispen.Chisina@stonybrook.edu
Solha.Park@stonybrook.edu
- -
AMS 311 Chi Do chi.do@stonybrook.edu - -
AMS 315 Mincheol Shin mincheol.shin@stonybrook.edu - -
AMS 326 Juan Kim juan.kim.1@stonybrook.edu    

 

 

Textbook Information 

Subject Course Title Textbook Title Author Edition Publisher ISBN
MAT 123 Precalculus

Precalculus

Jay Abramson - - Link available in the
syllabus
AMS 151-
90 & 91
Applied Calculus I Calculus Early
Transcendentals
James Stewart 8th - -
AMS 161-
90 & 91
Applied Calculus II Calculus: Single Variable Hughes-Hallet et al. 6th - -
AMS 210-
90
Applied
Linear Algebra
1. Complementary
Linear Algebra
2. Linear Algebra
1. Anton & Busby
2. Cherney, Denton,
and Waldron
1. 1st
2.  -  
1. Wiley
2.    -    
1. 9780471163626
2. Link in the syllabus
AMS 210-
91
Applied
Linear Algebra
1. Complementary
Linear Algebra
2. Linear Algebra
1. Anton & Busby
2. Cherney, Denton
and Waldron
- 1. Wiley
2.    -    
-
AMS 261 Applied Calculus III Multivariable Calculus Ron Larson &
Bruce H. Edwards
10th Brooks/Cole ISBN-10: 1337879649
AMS 301 Finite Mathematical
Structures
Applied Combinatorics Alan Tucker 6th Wiley -
AMS 303 Graph Theory 1. Intro to Graph Theory
2. Applied Combinatorics
3. Elementary Cryptanalysis
1. Robin Wilson
2. Alan Tucker
3. Abraham Sinkov
1. 5th
2. 6th
3. 2nd
1. Prentice Hall
2. Wiley
3. MAA
-
AMS 310 Survey of Probability
and Statistics
Probability and Statistics
for Science and Engineering
with Application in R
Hongshik Ahn 2nd Cognella 9781516531103
AMS 311 Probability Theory 1. Introduction to Probability
2. A First Course in Probability
1. Ward & Gundlach
2. Sheldon Ross
1. -  
2. 9th
1. MacMillon
2. Pearson
1. 9780716771098
2. 9780321794772
AMS 315 Data Analysis Statistics: The art and
science of learning
from data
Agresti & Franklin 3rd Pearson 9780321805744
AMS 326 Numerical Analysis 1. Numerical Analysis
2. Numerical Methods in
Engineering with Python 3
1. Richard Burden,
Faires &
 Annette Burden
2. Jaan Kiusalaas
1. 10th
2.  -  
- 1.ISBN: 9781305253667
ISBN: 1305253663
2. 9781107033856